Springfield was formed as a township on April 14, 1794, and was incorporated as one of New Jersey’s first 104 townships by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on February 21, 1798.  Since its incorporation as a municipality, the Township operates under the Township Committee form of government and is comprised five members elected to staggered, three-year terms.  Springfield is located in the Union County, New Jersey with a population of approximately 15,800.  The Township of Springfield is in the Seventh Congressional District and is part of New Jersey’s 21st Legislative District.

New Jersey’s Seventh Congressional District, covering portions of Hunterdon County, Middlesex County, Somerset County and Union County, is represented by Leonard Lance (R, Flemington).

New Jersey is represented in the Senate by Cory Booker (D, Newark) and Robert Menendez (D, Hoboken).

The 21st District of the New Jersey Legislature is represented in the State Senate by Thomas Kean Jr. (R, Westfield) and in the Assembly by Jon Bramnick (R, Westfield) and Nancy Munoz (R, Summit).

The Governor of New Jersey is Chris Christie (R, Mendham).

Union County is governed by a nine-member Board of Chosen Freeholders, elected at-large to three-year terms on a staggered basis. The county government is responsible for the construction and maintenance of county roads and bridges and the operation of a county jail.